Local News kindly sponsored by: New World DANNEVIRKE


The Hawke's Bay District Health Board says responded to a report that there are queues for aged-care facilities in the region.

Chief medical and dental officer, Dr John Gommans, said a report released by the New Zealand Aged Care Association was written by a lobby group, and did not provide the full picture.

The report said elderly people in Hawke's Bay had to wait an average of
9.7 months before they were admitted to an aged-care facility after first qualifying.

Dr Gommans said the report ignores access to services that allow older people to remain at home if they prefer that option, and said people needing to be in an aged residential care facility usually wait only a matter of days for a bed, if they need that level of care.

He said the focus and investment had been to help older people stay independent in their own homes for longer, with wrap-around care to support them and their families in that decision.

Dr Gommans said the DHB had only received the report on Wednesday night, so had not had an opportunity to fully review the data used.

As at 9am yesterday, (12 April), half of the 26 facilities in Hawke's Bay, that offered rest home level of care, had vacancies.


Putere farmer Dave Danks was named the Silver Fern Farms Hawke's Bay Farmer of the Year last night.

The winners of the Hawke's Bay Primary Sector Awards were announced at a function at the Hawke's Bay Showgrounds, attended by about 400 people.

Mr Danks manages Monarae Station, with the judging panel saying he had demonstrated real strengths in his business.

Maraekakaho property owners Charlie and Michelle Bogard won the Pan Pac Hawke's Bay Farm Forester Award, with Te Mata Estate Winery chairman, John Buck, winning the Industry Leader Award.

Online platform StockX won the inaugural Sector Innovation Award, and veterinary student Marcus Yule from CHB picked up the A & P Scholarship.

CHB farmer Sam Robinson was also recognised for his contribution to the industry, winning the Laurie Dowling Memorial Award.


Rugby draw :