Local News kindly sponsored by: New World DANNEVIRKE


Central Hawke's Bay Mayor Alex Walker has been elected into two positions within the Local Government NZ National representative framework.

Nominated as LGNZ Rural Sector Chair and for the Rural Sector National Council Representative, Ms Walker recently ran unopposed for both positions.

Representatives are elected every three years, and both appointments take effect immediately.

She will meet as a member of the National Council six times per year.

Ms Walker says she feels privileged to represent the Rural Sector on the National Council, and looks forward to championing issues of social, economic, environmental and cultural importance to rural councils and communities as both Chair and Representative for the Sector.

She says as CHB continues to grow and develop, we are an example of a rural district which is truly thriving but which shares the challenges of size, infrastructure pressure and rates affordability that other rural councils around the country are facing.


Past and present Mayors and Councillors gathered this week to commemorate 30 years since the Central Hawke's Bay District Council was established.

To date the Council has had six mayors and 46 councillors, and the vast majority had a chance to exchange stories, look through the council’s archives from the last 30 years and review the progress, major achievements and growth of the district since the council was established.

Mayor Alex Walker says thirty years ago the amalgamation of our councils was a hugely contentious issue, but through the passionate, committed and proud elected members the issues of waste, water, roads and infrastructure continue to be as important today as they were then.

Last Friday Council staff planted a tree in the council office gardens to mark the occasion.


Meanwhile the Tararua District Council will wrap up its 30th anniversary high-teas today.

Today the high-teas are being held at the Eketahuna Community Hall from 10-11am; followed by the Pahiatua Service Centre from 1.30-2.30pm.